Michele with Just Marry!

Weddings and everything surrounding them!

Just Marry! Vendor Spotlight on Ricky Sylvia with the Buzzcatz

My spotlight this time is on Ricky Sylvia and his talented band, The Buzzcatz.  This is an amazing band, period.  They can do anything.  And for those of you out there who have worked with bands in the past, this one is a breeze.  No large headed ego maniac for the band leader.  Just a really great all around guy.  These guys make my life so much easier at a wedding and I always come off looking like the most amazing wedding coordinator when I’ve referred my clients to the Buzzcatz.  Why, do you ask?  Because they are so great to hear and I often have to look at the stage to see if that really is Ricky up there singing or if Bobby Darin has come back just for this one set.  If you haven’t worked with the Buzzcatz, then you must find a reason to.  They are one of a kind!

Here’s some great photos of Ricky and the band.  The first one is from one of my recent weddings, the Morales/Katta wedding. Thanks nu visions in photography for the image.

And here are a few more that the band shared with me.

buzzcatz-ricky

buzzcatz-band

Let’s get to know Ricky with the Buzzcatz a little better.

How did you get started?

I started as a kid in 1975. I was 11 years old. I auditioned for the U.C.P. telethon in Orlando and got the gig. My second gig was the Central FLA Fair that year.

Where do you get your inspiration?

ELVIS. I know I can be just as cool if I keep working at it and feel that I am just as good looking! 🙂

What’s your favorite part of the wedding day?

Watching the father of the bride sign the check!

What’s your favorite movie?

Hmmmm….lots of them…AMERICAN GRAFFITTI, SCARFACE, and KING CREOLE.

What’s your best wedding story?

How about my WORST?….we had a guy die on the dance floor while we were playing “Young At Heart”.

What in your opinion is the coolest trend right now with weddings?

Band AND deejay combos…makes my night alot easier and we don’t have to learn all kinds of useless songs!

If you could give brides one piece of advice, what would it be?

HIRE THE BUZZCATZ…they’re the best!

What is one thing that you want everybody to know about you?

I know how much your wedding night means to my brides and their families… it is an honor that I do not take lightly.

Do you have any pets?

No…I am allergic!

What is the best color combo for weddings?

PURPLE AND GREEN.

What are your favorite blogs/websites?

www.thebuzzcatz.com, www.tributesradio.com, www.justmarry.com !

What does the future hold for you?

Dinner & a movie tonight with my incredibly beautiful wife, resurrecting my tribute to ELVIS and learning a few more BOBBY DARIN songs.

What do you do in your spare time?

Search Ebay for vintage clothing and look at Elvis related websites.

November 11, 2008 - Posted by | band, band and deejay combo, blog, brides, Buzzcatz, Curt Littlecot, entertainment, nu visions in photography, Ricky Sylvia, Stephanie Rounds, Uncategorized, wedding consultant, wedding coordinator, wedding day, wedding night, wedding planner, wedding reception

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

